Structure, Governance and Management


The Royal Agricultural University Students’ Union (RAUSU) is constituted under the Education Act 1994, as a charity with regulations set out by its Articles of Association.  RAUSU’s charitable objectives under the Act are to advance the University’s educational purposes by providing representation and support for the students of the Royal Agricultural University (the University). The Trustees of the RAUSU are two External Trustees (Chair and Vice Chair), and three elected Student Trustees.  The Vice Chair is also a member of University staff.

Legal Structure

The RAUSU is a registered charity and a company limited by guarantee governed by its Memorandum and Articles of Association. The Trustees of the charity are also directors for the purposes of the Companies Act.

Trustees Responsibilities

The Trustees are responsible for the overall direction and charitable activities of the RAUSU and for ensuring that it complies with the Charities Commission guidance on public benefit.

Selection of Trustees

Student Trustees are appointed annually by election from the student body.  External Trustees are appointed by the Governing Council of the University every three years.

Organisational Structure

The General Manager is responsible for the day to day operational management of the RAUSU, and is accountable to the RAUSU Trustees.  The board of Trustees meets four times a year.  

The RAUSU also has a Committee of five student volunteer officers who are elected annually and one appointed officer.  These officer roles are as follows:

  • RAG Chair
  • RAG Secretary
  • Campaigns and Wellbeing Officer (appointed)
  • Sports Officer
  • Social Secretary
  • Social Secretary

The Student Committee is overseen by the three Student Trustees, and meets weekly with the General Manager to discuss ongoing operational issues.  RAUSU also employs two other members of non-student, full-time staff to ensure effective management of its many activities and to implement the policy decisions made by the Trustees.


External Trustees

  • Oliver Fielding, Chair (appointed 01.01.17)
  • Mark Harris, Vice Chair (appointed 01.08.19)

2019/20 Student Trustees

  • Lewis Bebb, RAUSU Chairman (appointed 01.08.19)
  • Emily Rix, Vice President, Academic (appointed 01.08.19)
  • Amelia Bailey, Vice President, Community (appointed 01.08.19)

Company Secretary

Melanie Kayani (appointed 01.08.16)

Air Your Views with SU President

SU President, Lewis Bebb will be holding drop-in sessions in the Atrium every fortnight from 12pm – 1pm, starting 3rd October to talk to students first hand.

Open to all students - come along and get your voice heard:

  • Thursday 3 October 2019
  • Thursday 17 October 2019
  • Thursday 31 October 2019
  • Thursday 14 November 2019
  • Thursday 28 November 2019


Data Sharing Agreement

This Data Sharing Agreement governs the provision of students' personal information by the Royal Agricultural University (the University) to the Royal Agricultural University Students’ Union (RAUSU) and explains the purposes for which that information may be used.


Bottom Aligned List for Powered By

Registration Details

Registered Office: Royal Agricultural University, Stroud Road, Cirencester, Glos, GL7 6JS
Registered in England Company Number: 08540244
Registered Charity Number: 1154402